Skip to main content
The Northern Queensland Primary Health Network (NQPHN) Community Advisory Committee covers the Cairns, Cape and Torres, Townsville, and Mackay regions.

Committee members are comprised of health service users, consumers, carers, and community members, and act as a critical friend to NQPHN by bringing community perspective to advise the planning of activities and priorities. The committee's advice is aligned with NQPHN’s Health Needs Assessment and local and Commonwealth priorities.

The aim of the Committee is to enable health system improvement and reform in local regions and for identified community groups. They ensure that community ideas drive improvements in person-centred care to deliver better health outcomes that are locally-relevant and aligned to local care experiences and expectations.

The Committee also guides and advises NQPHN to improve its social impact, cultural security, and patient safety of programs it commissions throughout the region.

As champions of change, members maximise and leverage their own community networks to improve health outcomes through coordinated care.

The Community Advisory Committee plays a key role in helping to guide NQPHN in ensuring activities are connected to and supported by the communities it serves.

NQPHN Community Advisory Committee (CAG) members
Mr Jeremy Audas Community Mental Health - Executive Manager (NQ), Richmond Fellowship Queensland Townsville
Sgt Nigel Dalton Crime Prevention, Queensland Police Service Mackay
Ms Michelle Hooke Chief Executive Officer, Girudala Community CoOp Mackay
Ms Donna Jackson Principal Inclusive Communities - Future Cities, Townsville City Council Townsville
Ms Margaret Stewart Nurse Practitioner / Midwife, Gidgee Healing Cairns, Cape and Torres
Mr Jeff Stewart-Harris Chief Executive Officer, Isaac Regional Council Mackay
Mr Stephen Ung Regional Director Cairns and Hinterland, Department of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships (DATSIP) Cairns, Cape and Torres
08 July 2021